A Long Goodbye

I’ve flown to the other side of the country and left my grandmother in the care of relatives.  Leaving was the most painful thing I have ever done in my life.  None of my words are good enough to describe it.  How can I fill in words the absence this wound has left in me?  And I am unsure now whether she understood that I was going and not coming back, unlike my father who had to leave for a short respite.  My grandmother is doing much better, very alert and cognizant, though still forgetful and confused at times – it was the right time to go though.  And my father will return.

I will not.  At least, not in this world – not in the way I know her now. When we said our goodbyes, she pleaded, “Come back to me soon.”  And truly, what else could I say?

“I promise I will.”

And I know it.


 

This is a long goodbye.

On Sunday, I am going on an adventure that starts in the Land of Israel and journeys across the Mediterranean to the long-expired-empire of Rome, up and down its boot-lined coast , finally breaking in Greece, where my favorite stories come from.  At that point I get lost and have to figure out where to go next, but so far I am returning sometime in September.  This is subject to change.

During the course of my journey, I will not be bringing a computer.  So, sadly, I will be unable to update here as frequently as I would like.  Attempts will be made, but nothing guaranteed.

If however you would like to remain updated on my travels, please check out my instagram where I will be updating frequently with pictures.

Until I return then – May you know peace.  May you know bliss.  May you get the chance to kiss and hold those you love.

One thought on “A Long Goodbye

Leave a Reply

